Sheep!

Sheep! Love them or not, they are definitely a living part of the Beara landscape. Luckily I love them…except when they are eating my garden of course. The following are some pictures of a few of the woolly beings that live near my home, and some who have ventured into my garden for a few furtive treats.

I wonder if the next group glows in the dark? I love how the pink really stands out.

Have you ever seen an Irish Traffic Jam?

Who left the garden gate open again?

One of the things I love most about where I live, is the fact that many farmers still use sheep dogs to round up their flocks. There is something exhilarating about listening to the calls and whistles as the collies streak through the hills like mercury, the sheep flowing and wheeling down the hillsides. So many times I have watched in awe and have forgotten to lift my camera. Next time I will try to remember to capture it on video for you. It is indeed a stunning sight.

In the meantime, I found some shepherding footage from Wales.  I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do!

About Susanne Iles

Contemporary symbolist artist, writer,curator,and geek/nerd girl . Interested in photography, mythology, alchemy,ancient history,science,gaming and magic.
This entry was posted in Beara Peninsula, County Cork, Sheep! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sheep!

  1. The Old Gray Egg says:

    I loved this post and have directed my readers to it. I envy being able to look out the window and see the dogs working the sheep and up over the hilltops. Unlike in Wales, it must be like watching the foam rise on a flagon of Guinness.

  2. holymotherofgod says:

    Mmmm countryside. NOTHING like it. I moved form mountainous oceanside in BC to the flat grainy prairies. Although the sizeable sky can be picturesque there is nothing like rolling country, livestock, simpler healthier lives. Amen to it all!

  3. Eric(Holland) says:

    Wow, u got a great blog, i apprieciate all the information on your blog…In about 2 weeks i go to Ireland myself. Starting 1 day in Dublin, 6 days in Kenmare, and the last day in Dublin. Thanks for your information, will add your blog to mine.

  4. Eric says:

    Hi there, Just got beack from my trip to Ireland. I visit the place called Kanmare and als have visit Beara and done the Sheep's Head Walk.What an beautifull country u are living in, stunning!!!! I love it!!I have post a serie of pictures about the walk on sheeps head, maybe u like to visit my site and leave some comments.With google Translate i add my link so u can read in English, the translation will not be perfect but u get an idea..http://translate.google.nl/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fsomephotomoments.skynetblogs.be%2F&sl=nl&tl=en&hl=nl&ie=UTF-8Love your blog and this was not the last time i will visit your country. The common day i will post more from Ireland!!!Greetings from NL

Leave a Reply

